Review #19 The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Directed by- Peter Jackson

Starring- Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen and Richard Armitage

Sorry for the lack of communication over the past month and hope everybody had a lovely Christmas! First review of the new year (albeit slightly later than planned) is, The Hobbit.

Now, I am not a fan of LOTR. I don’t know why, so don’t ask why. I suppose it was just long and uninteresting. Too many people, too many magical creatures, and lots of walking. I’d join the ramblers if I wanted to walk. But, I actually liked the Hobbit. Well, preferred it to LOTR anyhow.
This movie is more for kids, which might be why it appealed to me (being a massive almost 22-year old child). There’s humour, albeit slightly childish, but nonetheless it made it more entertaining. It is about an hour too long. I’ve read the Hobbit. It’s a small book. About 300 pages. WHY HAS IT BEEN MADE INTO THREE MOVIES??????? Unnecessary. Other parts were added from the appendices of both The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. Not needed. This movie could easily have been condensed into 2 and a half hours for the whole book. There was also lots of walking, and slow scenes between the walking, which made me yearn for more walking.
What I’d say makes this movie fairly decent is the actors/Golem (and I’m sure the great Benedict Cumberbatch as Smaug will be amazing, but you only get a glimpse of him at the end). Martin Freeman has come a long way since playing the nude double in Love Actually, and although I had doubts at first, he actually makes an excellent Bilbo. Believable in that he is a simple Hobbit who just wishes to stay at home in Bagend.
I’d recommend seeing it, just bear in mind two things: 1) it is very long and 2) if you liked LOTR- it will not be as good. If you didn’t- you’ll probably quite enjoy it (this is what I’ve found from talking to people).
I shall be going to see the sequel, although, only really out of faithfulness to the book. And Benedict Cumberbatch.
Three and a half stars.
