Review #18 Elf

 

By Katy Daniels

Directed by- Jon Favreau

Starring- Will Ferrell, James Caan and Bob Newhart

As someone who really dislikes Will Ferrell and all that he stands for, it took a lot for me to watch Elf. I resisted for about four years, despite being told ‘it’s amazing! Ferrell at his best! (to me- the worst words I could hear about a Will Ferrell movie)’, but finally last weekend, attempting to get into the Christmas spirit, I watched it. And loved every second of it.

It’s one of those movies that adults can easily watch, and to be honest, the jokes are borderline slightly rude (in the good way). Will Ferrell plays Buddy the Elf, a human who happened to slip into Santa’s sleigh one Christmas and ends up being raised by elves. He spends his life being too big for the houses, and not particularly skilled at making presents. So, Papa Elf, his adopted dad, gives him the name of his real dad (James Caan), so he can go find him in the crazy city of New York.

Buddy is a giant child. He always looks on the bright side and has a sunny, positive disposition. He loves Christmas (obsessively), and strives for his real father’s attention. It’s a great film that had me in stitches at times, much to my surprise. I’ve heard that this is where it ends with Will Ferrell’s decent movies; I can only vouch for that having only seen Anchorman (I didn’t like it at all but each to their own- many love it). Zooey Deschanel plays his love interest, she’s the same as she is in every movie/television show, but being herself fits in quite well with this film.

As funny as it is, I’m perhaps possibly going on about it a little too much because I was so surprised I found it that funny. It’s a tad predictable with the jokes, and if we’re going to talk about it properly- there’s not really much of a plot. Elf is a straight-forward family film, so perhaps for some adults not in touch with their inner child, it might not be their cup of tea.

It will make you laugh. It might make you cry for all the same reasons. But remember- the best way to spread Christmas cheer is to sing it loud for all to hear!

Three stars.

P.S. I’m considering doing a poll of favourite Christmas movies- stay tuned folks!

