Animated Preview- Frankenweenie and Wreck-It Ralph

I didn’t plan on doing an animated preview until a couple of hours ago when I was reading about Frankenweenie and Wreck-It Ralph. Don’t get me wrong, I love animated movies, but a) the first one is about a dead dog (cue Marley and Me flashbacks) and b) humans + Disney-Pixar don’t really impress me, I usually think they’d do well to stay away.

Frankenweenie

Directed by- Tim Burton

Starring- Winona Ryder, Catherine O’Hara and Martin Short

Release date (UK)- 17th October 2012

 

I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with Tim Burton. I love his animated features; they have a dark, soulful appeal that make me feel less guilty about being a 21 year old who gets genuinely attached to cartoon characters. And then he makes movies where demon barbers of Fleet Street sing whilst murdering their customers, which freak me out enough to vow never to watch them again.

Frankenweenie is about a young boy, Victor, whose beloved dog Sparky dies. He duly brings him back to life, making him look like some sort of monster of Frankenstein. That’s pretty much the plot, and his classmates start doing similar things to other dead creatures, and I believe they get out of control. Apparently this movie has TONS of references to plenty of other horror movies (Edward Scissorhands, Bride of Frankenstein, Young Frankenstein and one of my most favouritest movies ever, The Nightmare Before Christmas). It’s one of those movies which I think isn’t overly made for children, with the amount of other film references. It’s for their parents, film fans, and grown-up children like myself who just love a good movie.

Wreck-It Ralph

Directed by- Rich Moore

Starring- John C. Reilly, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch

Release date (UK)- 15th February 2013

 

I was reading Total Film when I saw a little picture of the main characters (Ralph resembles an Incredible) and in my head I started screaming NONONONONONO. Oh Disney-Pixar, why do you torture us with movies about humans? I get enough of humans in my life anyway.

Is he a puny human?

BUT, I bought the November edition of Empire, which had a big picture of the main characters, and I thought, ‘hang on, is that Nintendo’s Bowser?’ And it was! Ralph is a baddie in a video game, and yearns to be the good guy, so tramples through other video games meeting characters from Super Mario, Sonic the Hedgehog, and Streetfighters! This got me very excited, as you can see from the Frankenweenie preview, I love when films reference/include other films. However, Empire did inform me that Nintendo haven’t allowed D-P to use Mario himself, and received a message from the video-gaming corporation saying ‘when Bowser drinks coffee, his mouth isn’t that shape’.

Hopefully this will be the start of a new era for Disney-Pixar, I didn’t find Brave appealing and roll my eyes when people start talking about Toy Story 4 (although Monsters University, the Monsters inc. prequel, sounds like it will live up to its hype). Is Ralph human? Well, technically he’s a video game, or a human in a video game, so you can make your own mind up about that.

These movies are both spins on the classic animated film category- subtly meant for adults, with plenty of crossovers and references to balance a somewhat kiddy aspect.

P.S. Dear Nintendo, please let them use Mario.

