Review #3 Avengers Assemble

Image

Review #3- Avengers Assemble

Rated 12A

Directed by Joss Whedon

Starring- Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Samuel L. Jackson, Mark Ruffalo and Jeremy Renner.

*takes a moment to gather self*

 

****Spoiler alert****

This is an awesome movie. Awesome awesome awesome. I’m Team Marvel (the only exception to that is Christopher Nolan’s Batman Trilogy), so imagine my glee when Avengers came out.

For some unknown reason, I hadn’t seen Thor (that was duly rectified) before the movie, so was slightly confused at the beginning when random jumpy man (Jeremy Renner) and Stellan Skarsgard appeared, followed by a British bloke who l thought looked a little like Michael Sheen (Tom Hiddleston) suddenly apparated out of nowhere. However, it allll became apparent that Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) was gonna be kicking ass. And would be gathering others to kick ass too.

Iron Man (RDJ) and Captain America (Chris Evans) are brilliant superheroes. I liked the rapport they have together, the playfulness and comedy of Tony Stark combined with the seriousness yet innocence of the Cap brought a balance few superhero movies have. The introduction of Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk was a fine choice, one I think Marvel should stick to. I’ll reluctantly acknowledge Bana’s Banner but only to say that’s it Marvel, three Hulks is enough. Stick to Ruffalo and stop switching them about. I like what they do with the Hulk. He can control it, in that he learns to ‘always be angry’. Stark’s beast-poking of him kept me amused, hoping he would suddenly turn into the big green machine after one too many pokes from Tony, but alas it was not to be. I hadn’t really seen any of Ruffalo’s other movies but I dare say he’s been catapulted to slightly more fame.

I’ll give some plot background before my praise for every single Avenger overloads the review.

Loki, Thor’s (Chris Hemsworth) brother, wants to take over the Earth using an army of weird alien things (they were possibly the only disappointing things about the movie. One of them looked like a giant turtle). Nick Fury of S.H.I.E.L.D, must gather the gifted humans/demi-gods known as the Avengers, on a giant flying plane thingy. The effects are incredible, especially when evil Hawkeye starts to take over and destroy it, and Iron Man and the Cap go into the engines and manually perform the repairs. Needless to say, lots of action and amazing superheroes attempt to save the world.

Loki has a magic sword that simply by poking on someone’s chest with it, he can turn them evil. This happens early on to Hawkeye and Stellan Skarsgard, and amusingly attempts to with Stark (of course with his shrapnel protector, it is not meant to be). Someone I haven’t mentioned is Black Widow. Scarlett Johansson annoys me. I don’t know what it is, in movies it just feels like she gets in the way of a really good movie. It felt a little like that here, although also that she was supposed to. The scenes with her and Hawkeye allude (to what I sort of hope to be honest) to a movie, by talking about their past and relationship. Renner was pretty cool as Hawkeye, he seems to be taking the leading role in his most recent movies but I liked him being on the sides, he’s interesting enough to care about as a superhero but doesn’t detract from Robert Downey Junior, because let’s face it, there’s quite a few Avengers. RDJ makes the movie. He says my favourite line in the movie (when picking up Hawkeye- ‘Clench up, Legolas’).

As mentioned, the movie gives (what I hope are) subtle references to more Marvel movies. Captain America 2, Thor 2, Blackwidow/Hawkeye movie, some sort of Hulk follow-up, and the movie (MASSIVE SPOILER ALERT) ends with Thanos. You see a bit of Captain America’s innocence and it conjures up sympathy, and amusement at his pride in getting a Wizard of Oz reference. However, I hope Captain America 2 won’t just be about him adapting to the modern world.

Finally, someone I will dedicate a whole paragraph to, Agent Phil (Clarke Gregg). The most unexpected yet most deserving superhero to be a member of the Avengers. He was heroic, intelligent, daring and brave, and died for the world. However, there are rumors he might come back reincarnated in another Marvel movie (ahem Principle Coulson), we’ll have to wait and see for that one though.

Kick-ass. Funny. Moving. RDJ.

I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL.

4 AND A HALF STARS (closer to 5 than saying: 4 and a half stars).

